Home Awards Preston is Smiles Better – finalists announced

Preston is Smiles Better – finalists announced

The awards are sponsored by the North & Western Lancashire Chamber of Commerce

Voting is closed and the results are in; over 70,000 votes have been cast in Preston BID’s ‘Smiles Better Awards’, which recognise outstanding businesses and individuals in Preston city centre.

A total of fifteen prizes are up for grabs at the awards’ ceremony on April 9th, including Independent Retailer of the Year, Multiple Retailer of the Year, Customer Service Champion, Bar of the Year, Restaurant of the Year and City Star.

In addition, a ‘Special Recognition Award’ which cannot be voted for, will be awarded to someone who’s made a significant contribution to the city.

Previously that honour has gone to Friargate florist Margaret Mason, who’s operated a business in Preston for over fifty-five years, the Carter Family, former operators of Preston’s ‘Ted Carter’ angling store and former leader of Preston City Council, the late Honorary Alderman Peter Rankin.

Mark Whittle, from Preston BID which organises the competition, said: “The businesses in Preston city centre consistently offer outstanding service, and the ‘Smiles Better’ awards are our way honouring these people and organisations. It’s their efforts that keep people returning to our city centre time and time again, and for that, we thank them.”

Babs Murphy Chief Executive of the North & Western Lancashire Chamber of Commerce, sponsors of the awards, said: “The large amount of votes cast is a tribute to all the great customer-focused work being carried out by staff in Preston’s shops, restaurants, bars and cafes.

“This positive response from general public voting again highlights Preston’s deserved reputation as a vibrant shopping and leisure destination that delivers a great customer experience.”

The full list of finalists: 

Bar of the year

Northern Way
Roper Hall
Wings & Beer


Club of the year



Restaurant of the year

Bistrot Pierre
Turtle Bay
We Don’t Give A Fork


Pub of the year

Plug & Taps
Ships & Giggles
Twelve Tellers
The Adelphi


Personality of the year

Brian Hudson – Tokyo Jo’s Reunion
DJ Ben – The Warehouse
Darren Ofsarnie – Switch
Mark Freejack – Evoque
Matthew Wood – Krispy Kreme


Leisure Manager of the year

Adam Coulson – Twelve Tellers
Dave Brown – Switch
Joe Parr – Wings & Beers
Mark O’Rourke – Mark O’Rourke Group
Stacey Penney – Evoque


Retail Manager of the year

David Bullock – Preston Market
Gordon Gibson – Action Records
Matthew Wood – Krispy Kreme
Michelle Littlefair – PDSA
Sue Dodwell – Greggs


Multiple retailer of the year

Ann Summers
Krispy Kreme
Mark O’Rourke Group
Top Shop


Independent Retailer of the year 

Action Records
Cafune – South American Café
Townhouse Coffee & Brew Bar
Yog Yums


Best Customer Service – Leisure

Dan Cowell – Wings & Beers
Ellen Cunliffe – Twelve Tellers
Henry Fairclough – Ships & Giggles Lee Lee Johnson – Switch
Sean Devlin – Get Staffed


Best Customer Service – Retail

Gordon Gibson – Action Records
Matthew Wood – Krispy Kreme
Paul Roscoe – HMV
Sue Dodwell – Greggs
Sam Eaves – Ann Summers


Outstanding achievement – Retail 

Adrian Livesey – Livesey’s Butchers
Andrew Stringer – St George’s
Dean Yates – Roast
Gordon Gibson – Action Records
Matthew Wood – Krispy Kreme


Outstanding achievement – Leisure

Aimee Massey – Bistrot Pierre
Darren Ofsarnie – Switch
Kyle Perkins – Yates
Lisa Billington – Warehouse
Simon Rigby – Guild Hall


City Star

Bernice Newton – Townhouse Coffee & Brew Bar
Ed Walker – Blog Preston
Ranvir Singh – UCLan / ITV
Simon Meighan – Wings & Beer
Simon Rigby – Guild Hall


Market Trader of the year

Adrian Livesey’s Butchers
Brew + Bake
Capelli Remi
Cherry Pie
Redmans of Preston


Event of the year

Bongo’s Bingo – Guild Hall
EvanFest – Ships & Giggles
GlastonFerret – The Ferret
Preston Pride – Flag Market
Record Store Day – Action Records


A BID Special Recognition Award is to be presented of the night